ways to start the day

Today on my morning jog I overtook an elderly man who was also out running.

I continued on my round but soon became tired and stopped to walk – at which point the elderly man I had passed (who seemed to have kept up a steady and consistant pace), overtook me me and gave me a cheeky grin, joking ‘I’m coming first now’. It was a nice light-hearted way to start the day and way to interact with a stranger.

2 Responses to “ways to start the day”


  1. 1 John April 11, 2007 at 1:39 pm

    That’s so funny; it is the rabbit and the tortoise all over again. It reminds me of those cool mornings running in the domain. I have a flatmate at the moment who reminds me of you in that way. There is no way I’ll ever match your determined schedules. She doesn’t run in the morning though and there is something more gained in the morning than after the spell has broken.

  2. 2 belle80 April 12, 2007 at 11:20 am

    Nothing beats a morning jog – sun rising, dewey grass, smog-free and no traffic. The truth of the matter however, is that you get to sweat and toil away in private, I can’t face a gym where you watch your red face panting in the mirror and compare your running style to the person next to you 😉


Leave a Reply

